ANY QUESTIONS? CALL US: 0474 043 643
OPEN: 9 – 5.30 MON TO FRI & 9 – 4 SAT
The History of Lesley’s
Our building
In the 1860’s a draper shop owned by Oscar Wehrshedt, along with other small businesses occupied the area along Murray St, Gawler north of Tod St. By 1905 A Sheard, Importer, had built a larger store known as Essex House, which is still in use by Lesley’s today. By 1928 a much larger extension was added.

In 1930, the business was purchased by HB Crosby, who was a businessman & MP, serving 16 years in SA Parliament.

He died in 1949 and the store was managed by his son Alan. For more information on HB Crosby, click here.

Keeping the past alive

Our timeless & elegant clothing and superb customer service

Crosbys was a store that sold clothing & drapery/Manchester, plus footwear & hats for men, women & children for decades before closing in 1999.

A few years as a furniture shop followed by several years of being vacant.

Lesley’s of Gawler moved in during 2017 occupying both the smaller original and larger extension and is a unique, bright environment for a ladies clothing store.

The buildings retain their original features of angled security mirrors, pressed panels, pressed ceilings, cast iron supports, skylight roof, wooden floors and cellar (with graffiti dating from 1914).

Of real interest to anyone walking in for the first time is the Flying Fox system, which carried cash from the counters to the main office, while clients waited for their change.

The Flying Fox was installed in 1912, and stopped being used in 1980. Most of the wires are still intact but sadly the cash containers are missing. For more information on other stores using the Flying Fox or tube system please click here.

If you have never been into Lesley’s or the HB Crosby/Essex House building, please come and visit.

It’s a fascinating step back to another era where old fashioned customer service is proudly provided.

Click here to read more about Gawler, our wonderful town!